Jharkhand becomes third state to ratify GST Amendment Bill

GST rollout deadline is April 2017. The states are rushing to ratify the bill, so that it can be implemented before the deadline. Jharkhand now becomes the third state to pass GST Amendment bill.

Jharkhand on 17th August, 2016 became the third state to ratify the Goods and Services Tax Amendment Bill in a special session of the Legislative Assembly.

Thanking all the MLAs of the House for rising above party lines to ratify the bill, Chief Minister Raghubar Das said that the unanimity demonstrated by the legislators on initiating one country, one tax was exemplary. The GST Bill, described as India’s biggest tax reform, needs to be ratified by at least 15 state legislatures before the President can notify the GST Council which will decide the tax rate.

The Central has set a deadline of April 2017 for its rollout. Assam was the first state to ratify the bill. Telangana government has also decided to call an Assembly session this month to pass the GST bill, Telangana Finance Minister Etela Rajender said today.

Bihar on Tuesday became the first non-NDA state to ratify the Constitution Amendment Bill on GST after Chief Minister Nitish Kumar counted virtues of the tax reform. With all the major parties in the state including JD(U), RJD, Congress and BJP in favour of the tax legislation, the House approved the GST Bill through a voice vote.

Source: http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-jharkhand-becomes-third-state-to-ratify-gst-amendment-bill-2246106

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.